The Illusionist's Apprentice

by Kristy Cambron

On Sale: 2017-03-07

Price: $15.99

Book Summary

Harry Houdini’s one-time apprentice holds fantastic secrets about the greatest illusionist in the world. But someone wants to claim them . . . or silence her before she can reveal them on her own.

About the Book

Not all illusions happen on the stage.

Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to

escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor’s death, intent on burying her true identity.

But when a rival performer’s act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth—and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI’s investigation. All the while Houdini’s words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it’s what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface—and shatter her carefully controlled world.

Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician’s Lie, challenging all to find the underpinnings of faith on their own life’s stage.

“Prepare to be amazed by The Illusionist's Apprentice.” —Greer Macallister, bestselling author of The Magician's Lie and Girl in Disguise

Reviews

'Cambron takes readers on an amazing journey into the world of vaudeville illusionists during the Roaring Twenties. This novel includes an intriguing mystery that adds adventure and suspense to the intricately detailed historical drama . . . The romance is wonderfully portrayed as well, rounding out the story with tenderness.'

“Cambron’s lithe prose pulls together past and present and her attention to historical detail grounds the narrative to the last breathtaking moments.”

“Cambron (The Ringmaster’s Wife) has written a gripping tale of suspense that will please her growing fan base.”

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780718041502
  • ISBN 10: 071804150X
  • Imprint: Thomas Nelson
  • On Sale: 2017-03-07
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price: $15.99
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Publication Date: 2017-03-07
  • Trim Size: 140.000mm x 210.000mm x 25.000mm
  • Weight: 339.000gr
  • Category 1 : FICTION / Christian / Historical
  • Category 2 : FICTION / Christian / Romance
  • Category 3 : FICTION / Historical