The Painted Castle

by Kristy Cambron

On Sale: 2019-10-15

Price: $15.99

Format: Paperback

Book Summary

Bestselling author Kristy Cambron concludes the Lost Castle novels with this sweeping tale of art and secrets long buried in England.

About the Book

A lost painting of Queen Victoria. A library bricked off from the world. Three women, separated by time, whose lives are irrevocably changed.

When art historian Keira Foley is hired to authenticate a painting at a centuries-old East Suffolk manor, she hopes this is just the thing to get her career and life back on track. But from the time she arrives at Parham Hill Estate and begins working alongside rumored art thief Emory Scott, she’s left with far more questions than answers. Could this lost painting of Queen Victoria be a duplicate of the original Winterhalter masterpiece, and if so, who is the artist?

As Keira begins to unravel the mystery behind the portrait of the queen, two women emerge from the estate’s forgotten past. In Victorian England, talented sketch artist Elizabeth Meade is engaged to Viscount Huxley, then owner of Parham Hill. While there, master portrait artist Franz Winterhalter takes her under his wing, but Elizabeth’s real motive for being at Parham Hill has nothing to do with art. She’s determined to avenge her father’s brutal murder—even if it means feigning an engagement to the very man she believes committed the crime.

A century later, Amelia Woods—a WWII widow who has turned Parham Hill Estate and its beloved library into a boarding school for refugee children—receives military orders to house a troop of American pilots. She is determined that the children in her care remain untouched by the war, but it’s proving difficult with officers taking up every square inch of their world… and one in particular vying for a space in her long shut up heart.

Set in three time periods—the rapid change of Victorian England, the peak of England’s home front tensions at the end of World War II, and modern day—The Painted Castle unfolds a story of heartache and hope and unlocks secrets lost for generations, just waiting to be found.

The Painted Castle is a sweet romance, the third in the Lost Castle series. It can be read as a stand-alone but is better if read with The Lost Castle and Castle on the Rise.

Praise for The Painted Castle:

“Another page-turner! Author Kristy Cambron will enthrall readers with this gripping tale of three uniquely troubled women from different centuries, yet linked by secrets hidden behind the walls of an ancient English castle. Enjoy the ride as author Cambron uses her trademark skill peeling away the mystery surrounding East Suffolk’s Parham Hill Estate, and the answer to each woman’s heart—one tantalizing layer at a time. The Painted Castle is a story compelling, beautifully written, and sure to thrill a broad range of historical fiction fans!” —Kate Breslin, bestselling author of Far Side of the Sea

“Meticulously researched, intricately plotted, and elegantly written, Kristy Cambron weaves a haunting yet heartwarming tale that spans generations. With vivid descriptions and unforgettable characters, Cambron draws her readers into a world full of secrets and romance. Highly recommended!” —Sarah E. Ladd, author of the Cornwall novels

“A richly layered narrative for readers of Pam Jenoff, Rachel Hauck and Sarah Sundin. Cambron’s welcome knowledge of visual art as well as her penchant for marrying passion for location with splendid descriptive construction create an ode to the timeless quest for romance across the centuries. The Painted Castle wields an artist’s attention to detail, impeccable research and sheer soul that stir the savvy reader to recognize they are being given the rare opportunity to peer into an author’s heart.” —Rachel McMillan, author of Murder in the City of Liberty

“When woven together, each of the three storylines created a beautiful tale of redemption, authenticity, and courage.” —Lindsay Harrel, author of The Joy of Falling

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780718095529
  • ISBN 10: 0718095529
  • Imprint: Thomas Nelson
  • On Sale: 2019-10-15
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price: $15.99
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Series: A Lost Castle Novel
  • Publication Date: 2019-10-15
  • Category 1 : FICTION / Christian / Romance
  • Category 2 : FICTION / Christian / Historical
  • Category 3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women