Ascension of Larks

by Rachel Linden

On Sale: 2017-06-20

Price: $15.99

Book Summary

This stunning women’s fiction debut is for fans of Jodi Picoult and JoJo Moyes---one woman’s journey to finding joy after tragedy and embracing the beauty of an unexpected life.

About the Book

“Winsome kids and family friends add depth and warmth to the well-developed cast of characters. Readers will eagerly await future offerings from this promising new author.”--Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

“Linden’s debut novel is a bittersweet tale of enduring friendship, family ties, and the complexities of love that will engage readers of thoughtful women’s fiction.”--Library Journal, STARRED review, Debut of the Month

When globetrotting photographer Magdalena Henry loses the only man she’s ever loved, she risks her stellar career to care for his widow and young children on a remote island in the Pacific Northwest.

Free-spirited and fiercely independent, Maggie adores her life of travel and adventure. But she has a secret. She can’t let go of her first and only love, renowned architect Marco Firelli, now married to her best friend Lena.

When Marco drowns in a kayaking accident, Maggie rushes to the Firelli family’s summer home on San Juan Island. Once there she discovers that Marco was hiding something that could destroy his family. As fragile, perfectionistic Lena slowly falls apart, Maggie tries to provide stability for Marco and Lena’s three young children.

When Maggie is offered a once-in-a-lifetime chance to compete in the world’s most prestigious photography competition, she thinks she’s found the answer to their problems. Then Lena makes a choice with unexpected and devastating consequences, forcing Maggie to grapple with an agonizing decision. Does she sacrifice the golden opportunity of her career or abandon the Firellis just when they need her the most?

Gradually the island begins to work its magic. A century-old ritual to beckon loved ones home offers hope in the midst of sorrow. And a guilt-ridden yet compelling stranger hiding on the island may offer Maggie a second chance at love, but only if she can relinquish the past and move forward to find joy in unexpected places.

Reviews

'This is a heartfelt, tender story with a strong, intelligent and independent heroine at its center.'

“Linden’s debut novel is a bittersweet tale of enduring friendship, family ties, and the complexities of love that will engage readers of thoughtful women’s fiction.”

“. . .there is a beautiful redemptive strand running through the story.”

“Winsome kids and family friends add depth and warmth to the well-developed cast of characters. Readers will eagerly await future offerings from this promising new author.”

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780718095734
  • ISBN 10: 0718095731
  • Imprint: Thomas Nelson
  • On Sale: 2017-06-20
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: $15.99
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Publication Date: 2017-06-20
  • Trim Size: 137.000mm x 211.000mm x 20.000mm
  • Weight: 281.000gr
  • Category 1 : FICTION / Christian / Romance
  • Category 2 : FICTION / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
  • Category 3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • Category 4 : FICTION / Literary